School Newsletter 13

Dear Parents/ Carers

Our congratulations are sent all the children who received Jesus in Holy Communion for the first time on Saturday at St Ignatius’. Please pray for Joe, Luke, Bella, Arthur, Florence, Ruby, Dienna, Drew, Tori and Dianna. We pray that they continue to grow in Faith.

Readathon
The children and their families raised £893.50 for children in hospital through the Readathon held last term. 2 children have won a book token for their amazing fundraising efforts. All will be revealed in Sangam on Friday.

Lenten Fundraising
£1000 was raised during Lent by the children’s own fundraising activities. This money has been split between the Good Shepherd Appeal, Cafod and Cystic Fibrosis. (£333.33 each)

BKCAT charity
This year’s BKCAT charity is Cystic Fibrosis. St Joseph’s Castleford were the winners of the charity event last year and have organised a number of events over the course of this academic year.
The next event is ‘Wear Yellow for Cystic Fibrosis’ on 26/5/17. I hope you all kept the yellow T-shirt from the Air Ambulance event which also had Yellow as their colour.
There will be a Sponsored Space Hopper bounce for each class during the week beginning 12th June. Class teachers will organise exactly when their class will be doing the bounce. Mr. Bradley will send out Sponsor forms.

Mini Vinnies
We will be recruiting for Year 2 Mini Vinnies at the end of this half term. We have spaces for 4 new members of the team. Application forms will be given to those children who are interested before the Spring Bank Holiday.


Dates
Thursday 18th May – Class 4 trip to Countryside Live
Thursday 18th May – Robinwood information evening for parents 6pm
Friday 19th May – 4 Mini Vinnie’s @ St Anne’s Cathedral for the Good Shepherd Mass

Monday 22nd May – Class Photos
Tuesday and Wednesday 23/24th 4x Y6s @ St Peter & St Paul’s Church – More Than Dance (Wed 24th @ St Peter & St Paul’s for parents – 6:30pm)
Wednesday 24th May – RSPB in school all day
Wednesday 24th May – Y4&5 sponsored Fun Run for Cystic Fibrosis @ St Wilfrid’s 12-2:30pm
Thursday 25th May – Y2&3 singing performance for parents 9:30am
Thursday 25th May – Group of Y4s fundraising for the RSPCA – please send your child in with some money for their activities.
Friday 26th May – Wear yellow for Cystic Fibrosis no uniform day (£1 per child minimum)
Friday 26th May – RSPB visit to school – Day 2 (am)
Friday 26th May – Bedtime stories day in Nursery
Friday 26th May – Break for Spring Bank holiday

Tuesday 6th June – School re-opens

Monday 12th June – Sun Safe talk – Class 2
Wednesday 14th June – Swimming Gala @ St Wilfrid’s
Wednesday 14th June – 4x Mini Vinnie’s to visit St John’s
Wednesday 14th June – Class 5 assembly for parents 3pm
Friday 16th June – Y6 leave for Robinwood – 9.30am
Friday 16th June – EOCT Book Award ceremony

Saturday 24th June – Family cycle event @ St Thomas a Becket’s 12-2pm

Thursday 29th June – Feast day of Ss Peter & Paul Mass, parents welcome 10:45am tbc
Thursday 29th June – Y6 Puberty Talk – School nurse

Sunday 2nd July – St Ignatius’ Garden Party 12-2pm
Monday 3rd July – Play Leader training Y5
3rd and 4th July – Bikeability training Y6
Wednesday 5th July – Year 5 Bikeability training
Thursday 6th July – Y3/4 cricket competition

Monday 10th July – Annual Report to parents
Tuesday 11th July – BKCAT Charity morning (2x Y5 & 2x Y6 pupils)
Thursday 13th July – EY and KS1 Sports day, parents welcome 9:15 – 10:30am
– KS2 Sports day, parents welcome 10:45 – 12 noon

Tuesday 18th July – KS2 End of year show, parents welcome 2pm
Wednesday 19th July – KS2 End of year show, parents welcome 9:30am
Thursday 20th July – Year 6 Leavers’ Mass, parents welcome 9:15am tbc
Friday 21st July –Year 6 Leavers’ assembly, parents welcome 9:15am
Friday 21st July – School closes for the summer

Monday 4th September 2017 – school re-opens for children in Year 1-6. Nursery and Reception starters will be given an individual start date.

This entry was posted in News, Newsletters. Bookmark the permalink.